Choose your language:

Text resizer:

Australia Day Awards are the highest honour the North Burnett Regional Council have the privilege of presenting. Nominated by their peers, the nominees are inspirational and selfless community members that contribute their time, effort and skills to the betterment of their communities.

Although COVID interrupted the traditional Australia Day events across the region, the Awards have been rescheduled in a different format to ensure that we can still honour our great residents. Award winners and their families have been invited to an intimate ceremony to be held in Mt Perry on Saturday, 5 March 2022. The Award Ceremony will be live streamed on Council’s Facebook page from 8.30am for the broader community to share in celebrating our award winners.

“The North Burnett is home to many great people and this year’s nominees are a great example of our tireless community ambassadors,” Mayor Hotz said.

“Congratulations to all our nominees, you are all great representatives of your communities, thank you for your contributions.”

The award categories include Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Senior and Junior Sportsperson of the Year, Senior and Junior Cultural Award, Sports Administrator Award and Community Event of the Year for each of our 6 key North Burnett regions. On top of this we also celebrate regional awards, selected from the winners across all towns in the categories of Regional Citizen of the Year, Regional Young Citizen of the Year, Regional Volunteer of the Year, Regional Cultural Award and Regional Sport Award.

Our nominees across all award categories and towns include (and in no particular order): Anita Salisbury, Roger Stubbs, Rebecca Evans, Melinda Jones, Gordon Brian, Darryl and Lynette Zieth, Megan Parish, Mitch Salisbury, Estelle Hawkins, Ken and Jan Hutson, Amy Spletter, Tyson Dahtler, Molly Salisbury, Ivan Dunkley, Chloe Dent, Monto Little Athletics, St Therese Christmas Fair Committee, Friends of RM Inc, Geoff Price, Vanessa Murray, Jess Seeley, Stephen Maher, Terry Sams, Joy MacPherson, Michelle Croner, Grace Roth, Poppy Vella, Preston Parter, Yumbin Dance Group, Michelle Kinbacher, Joyce Miller, Georgia Hawkes, Gayndah Art Gallery, Gayndah Orange Festival, Gayndah State School P&C, Awhena Kororiko, Harrison Kemp, Jackson Kemp and Wyatt Shadford, Kay-Lee Bradford, Myles Polzin, Declan Eskdale, Stacey Duncan, Nicole Dakin, Mr Percival, Dr Geoff Walden, Jaz Slack, Cameron Polzin, Gayndah Riverwalk Parkrun, Barbara Gilby, Lauren Trott, Leah Trott, Brandan Florance, Natalie Formica, Irene Law, Deb Ulcoq, Cheryl Cumming, Biggenden SES
Unit – Biggenden Community Bingo, Mt Perry State School P&C 150th Committee, Monique Dingle, Roy Bassett, Michael Bennett, Mt Perry Senior Indoor Bowls Group, Beppie Stanley, Ken Schuster, Anita Ward, Bridget Murphy, Mt Perry Quilters, Jodie Brown, John Balshaw, Mundubbera Police Station Officers and Staff, Wally and Colleen Benham, Mundubbera Country Markets, Mundubbera Show Society Inc. Campdraft Committee, Mundubbera Show Society Inc., Beezley Kids Team, Sue Allan, Chenelle Allan, Michelle Fry, Michelle Chicken, Pam Kerr, Debra Balshaw, Wilfred Doessel, Joe Payne, Emma Breitkopf, and Raine Eastcott.

Please join me in celebrating our award nominees – Mayor Les Hotz

Award winners will be announced on the live stream and on Council’s website immediately following the awards ceremony.

Media Contact

Strategic Projects Manager, Jason Erbacher | 0400 787 072 |