Choose your language:

Text resizer:

Our Towns


Is the newest town in the North Burnett region, being established in 1924. Geographical features include the spectacular Cania Gorge. Cania Gorge and Kroombit National Parks both offer interesting short or long bushwalks to places like Dripping Rock, Bushranger’s Cave, Dragon Cave, and Double-Storey Cave.  The rich alluvial flats support a multitude of farming enterprises. Monto is located approximately 175 kms west of Bundaberg and 500kms northwest of Brisbane.


Eidsvold Township began its days as a goldmining town in 1887. The town Eidsvold took its name from Eidsvold Station, which was the name given to the property by the Archer Brothers when they selected it in 1848. Eidsvold Station was named after the small town of Eidsvoll in Norway. It is said that Australia’s first game of golf was played at Eidsvold station. Eidsvold is a renowned cattle beef cattle production area and home of the RM Williams Australian Bush Learning Centre. Eidsvold is positioned approximately 425 kms northwest of Brisbane and 145 kms west of Bundaberg.


Mundubbera is better known as the citrus capital of Queensland and has been listed as the third largest agricultural crop producer in the Wide Bay Area. The word “Mundubbera” is an aboriginal word meaning either ‘footsteps in the trees’ or ‘meeting place of the waters’, depending on which authority you choose to adopt. The former Mundubbera Shire Council came into existence in 1915 and was formally known as Auburn Shire Council. Mundubbera is home to the famous Black Stump. Mundubbera is sited on Highway A3, 400 kms northwest of Brisbane and 200 kms west of Maryborough.


Gayndah holds the title of Queensland’s Oldest Town. First settled in 1849 Gayndah is the historic centre of the Burnett Region. The town is perched on the banks of the Burnett River and many historical buildings form part of the tree lined business centre. Gayndah is well known for producing fine primary produce and is world famous for citrus. The Community of Gayndah is proud of its unique Sister City Relationship established in1989 with the Belgian township of Zonhoven. Gayndah is situated on the Burnett Highway approximately 360km north west of Brisbane.

Mt Perry

Mount Perry is the only Town in the former Perry Shire and was settled some time in the 1860s with the discovery of rich copper deposits by Henry Dingle. This discovery lead to the development of the town as news of the discovery spread fast, and many prospectors took up blocks. Current mining activity includes the Mt Rawdon Gold Mine. Perry Shire Council was formed in the early 1900’s holding its first meeting on Saturday 9 May 1903.  Mount Perry is the location of the southern hemispheres longest unsupported tunnel (Boolboonda Tunnel). Mount Perry is to be found between the Bruce and Burnett Highways, approximately 450 kms north of Brisbane and 100kms inland from Bundaberg.


The original inhabitants of this area belonged to various aboriginal tribes including the Wakka Wakka, the Darielbelum and the Dundubara. The boundaries of their land were the Aboriginal pathways which led from the coastal areas through this area and connected with pathways to the sacred site at Ban Ban Springs. Biggenden was settled in 1889 to service the era’s short-lived goldrush. Biggenden is the home to Paradise Dam and two unique National Parks, Mt Walsh and Coalstoun Lakes. Biggenden is located on the Isis Highway, approximately 340 kms from Brisbane and just over an hours drive from the coastal regions of Bundaberg, Maryborough and Hervey Bay.

As well as our major townships, the region boasts vibrant villages and a strong rural community which adds to the diversity of lifestyle opportunities to be experienced.

To learn more about our region's history, national parks, experiences and more - go here