Choose your language:

Text resizer:


Say thanks to a community member or group by nominating them for an Australia Day Award!

North Burnett Regional Council Australia Day Awards are the highest honour Council can bestow on an individual, club or organisation to acknowledge their contribution and service in each community of Biggenden, Eidsvold, Gayndah, Monto, Mt Perry and Mundubbera.

The awards celebrate and acknowledge the achievements and contributions of individuals, clubs and organisations who contribute to improving the lives of others and our community.

Download the Australia Day Nominations flyer to display at your school, office, workplace!

2022 Australia Day Award Winners

 Inspiring North Burnett residents were celebrated and congratulated at a regional award ceremony held in Mt Perry Saturday, 5 March 2022.

The winners across all towns and categories were announced on our Facebook page in a Live Stream from 8.30am on 5 March. 

View all the photos and winners here

 View the Ceremony Awards Program here

Congratulations to all the nominees across all award categories and towns (and in no particular order):
Anita Salisbury, Roger Stubbs, Rebecca Evans, Melinda Jones, Gordon Brian, Darryl and Lynette Zieth, Megan Parish, Mitch Salisbury, Estelle Hawkins, Ken and Jan Hutson, Amy Spletter, Tyson Dahtler, Molly Salisbury, Ivan Dunkley, Chloe Dent, Monto Little Athletics, St Therese Christmas Fair Committee, Friends of RM Inc, Geoff Price, Vanessa Murray, Jess Seeley, Stephen Maher, Terry Sams, Joy MacPherson, Michelle Croner, Grace Roth, Poppy Vella, Preston Parter, Yumbin Dance Group, Michelle Kinbacher, Joyce Miller, Georgia Hawkes, Gayndah Art Gallery, Gayndah Orange Festival, Gayndah State School P&C, Awhena Kororiko, Harrison Kemp, Jackson Kemp and Wyatt Shadford, Kay-Lee Bradford, Myles Polzin, Declan Eskdale, Stacey Duncan, Nicole Dakin, Mr Percival, Dr Geoff Walden, Jaz Slack, Cameron Polzin, Gayndah Riverwalk Parkrun, Barbara Gilby, Lauren Trott, Leah Trott, Brandan Florance, Natalie Formica, Irene Law, Deb Ulcoq, Cheryl Cumming, Biggenden SES
Unit – Biggenden Community Bingo, Mt Perry State School P&C 150th Committee, Monique Dingle, Roy Bassett, Michael Bennett, Mt Perry Senior Indoor Bowls Group, Beppie Stanley, Ken Schuster, Anita Ward, Bridget Murphy, Mt Perry Quilters, Jodie Brown, John Balshaw, Mundubbera Police Station Officers and Staff, Wally and Colleen Benham, Mundubbera Country Markets, Mundubbera Show Society Inc. Campdraft Committee, Mundubbera Show Society Inc., Beezley Kids Team, Sue Allan, Chenelle Allan, Michelle Fry, Michelle Chicken, Pam Kerr, Debra Balshaw, Wilfred Doessel, Joe Payne, Emma Breitkopf, and Raine Eastcott.

View Mayor Hotz’s words of congratulation and appreciation to all nominees here. 


Award Categories

Read the Australia Day Awards Information Sheet for category, eligibility criteria and assessment information.

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year
  • Senior Sports
  • Junior Sports
  • Sports Administrator
  • Senior Cultural
  • Junior Cultural

Nominate now!

To begin your nomination, select the town the nominee is from and select the category to be taken to the online nomination portal.

Regional Australia Day Awards

The inaugural North Burnett Regional Australia Day Awards have been introduced in addition to the local Australia Day Awards in each community.

The Regional Awards strive to unite the North Burnett by recognising extraordinary talent and acknowledging the valued contribution people have made to inspire and enrich the lives of others throughout our great region.

Australia Day Award recipients from each local community of Biggenden, Eidsvold, Gayndah, Monto, Mount Perry and Mundubbera will automatically be considered by the North Burnett Selection Panel.

  • Regional Citizen of the Year
  • Regional Young Citizen of the Year
  • Regional Volunteer of the Year
  • Regional Cultural Award
  • Regional Sport Award

The Regional Awards will be presented at the relevant local community Australia Day Award ceremonies held across the region.


Previous Award Recipients

View award winners from 2016 to 2021 here.  Please contact us on 1300 696 272 if you would like information on award recipients prior to 2016.